SFMoMA

75 years

Sort of a catch-all, baseline post about SFMoMA. My previous post about the New Oakland Museum got me thinking about the way my thinking about SFMoMA has changed during 2010.

Between the Anniversary Show and the Fisher Collection, I’ve come to appreciate a museum whose permanent collection I never really considered before. The Anniversary Show fixes what’s been a major blind spot in the curation—a lack of emphasis on the local art scene (especially in regard to both Mexican Art and Photography) where those pieces are treated as distinct from the permanent collection rather than being cornerstones of it.* It’s a whole new museum to me now.

*And don’t get me started on the tendency for the most-important pieces to be loaned out more often than they are displayed locally.

This isn’t to say that I’ve all of a sudden become an SFMoMA member who constantly visits the museum just to see the permanent collection. I’m just much more likely now to bring a visitor there even if there’s no special exhibition present. This is also all subject to change if the collection reverts to what it was.

SFMoMA to me is still mainly the place I go to see photography exhibitions. The traveling shows are generally very good and I’ve been pleased by the additional curation that is added from the permanent collection. 2010 brought a number of good exhibitions across my path (The View From Here, New Topographics, Cartier-Bresson, and Exposed) and I’m looking forward to seeing Muybridge this year.

4 responses to “SFMoMA

  1. Pingback: The Steins Collect | n j w v

  2. Pingback: Greatest Hits | n j w v

  3. Pingback: Six Lines of Flight | n j w v

  4. Pingback: Jay DeFeo | n j w v

What do you think?

