Kodak Retina IIa

benno
My first ever $5 Keeble bargain bin purchase. This was one of those cameras that just looked too good to be passed up. I was extremely pleased to discover that it works and I’ve been running a roll through it every month or so since I purchased this in July. For a $5 speculative purchase, this camera has become one which I plan to use for a while.
retina
This camera dates from the 1950s and has both a coated 50mm f/2 lens as well as a coupled rangefinder in the viewfinder. In many ways, it’s the perfect pocket camera.
self portrait
hermanos
post-obon
thanksgiving
tree
pier
So far, I’ve been running random film through it but I’m really liking how it handles XP2 Pro. My only real complaints are that the viewfinder and rangefinder spot are both a bit dim and that it has a tendency to backfocus a little bit. I’ve also noticed it has a tendency to flare a bit with backlight, but that’s always a possibility with any lens—especially those which are over 50 years old. All in all though, I really like it. It’s been fun learning how to use a rangefinder and it scares me to realize that I think I like them…

6 responses to “Kodak Retina IIa

  1. Pingback: Mint Condition | n j w v

  2. Pingback: Blind spot | n j w v

  3. Pingback: Ten Camera Collection | n j w v

  4. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions | n j w v

  5. Pingback: Keeble and “The Box” | n j w v

  6. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions | n j w v

What do you think?

