New Industrial Parks

It only took me ten months to fulfill this. I received Gohlke’s Accommodating Nature for Christmas. And today, Baltz’s The new Industrial Parks near Irvine, California arrived.

In looking at the photos, I find myself realizing that what I like most about them is that they show me my world.

... ...

While I’ve been shooting the area around my work with the explicit intent of being Baltzy, I see emulating him as the same phenomenon that causes me to emulate Ansel Adams when I take my camera on hikes in the Sierras.

I’m a child of the suburban west. Industrial parks and the Sierra Nevadas are two worlds which I grew up in. There’s no need to talk about Adams but Baltz’s work speaks to me in the exact same sense of being true. It captures what I grew up seeing and feeling about these places. And it inspires me to go out and shoot some more.

7 responses to “New Industrial Parks

  1. Pingback: Baltzing | n j w v

  2. Pingback: Westward the Course of Empire | n j w v

  3. Pingback: Un surtido de fotos mexicanos | n j w v

  4. Pingback: What Can We Believe Where? | n j w v

  5. Pingback: There’s No Place Like Camp Tuolumne | n j w v

  6. Pingback: Alec Soth’s Silicon Valley | n j w v

  7. Pingback: California and the West | n j w v

What do you think?

