Donation

kitty

When the San José Museum of Art contacted me asking for permission to use one of my photos for their Lunar New Year Community Day, it took me a few days of thinking before I came around to saying yes. As much as I don’t like the idea of letting people use photos in exchange for just a photo credit, I’m also sympathetic to non-profits—especially when it’s one I already support and enjoy.

I’m not sure I would have agreed if it was for anything besides one of their free community days. I’m looking forward to taking my son to these once he’s old enough and it’s pretty clear that the community program is not the one which gets lots of funding.

So when I agreed, I did it from the point of view that this was essentially a donation to a cause which I am already in support of. I certainly appreciate the photo credit but it’s in the same way I appreciate seeing my name in a list of donors.

One response to “Donation

What do you think?

