Six-20 Brownie Junior

01.02.2012-3

Another Keeble $5 box special. I couldn’t turn this down since it’s just a nice camera to look at.* Plus it came with a 620 spool inside.

*Suggesting another requirement to my rules for purchasing vintage cameras. In addition to taking either 135 or 120, they should be nice objects in and of themselves.

Kodak Six-20 Brownie Junior

I’ve never shot 6×9 before. Nor had I ever shot one of the old-style cardboard-body Kodak Brownies. It’s an interesting experience. The viewfinders are brighter than I expected and the shutter switch (not a button) requires a bit of getting used to. And 6×9 negatives are almost too much larger than 6×6 negatives. I’m not feeling the same rush I received when I shot my first roll of 6×6 in the Hawkeye and was instead feeling a bit of fatigue in dealing with them.

That said, the camera is an interesting choice for architecture photos. Especially old buildings.
01.02.2012-1
01.02.2012-2
01.02.2012-4

I also played a bit with long exposures since the shutter switch functioned almost as a cable release. My other toy cameras require holding the button down continuously for the long exposures. The Brownie Junior shutter though just has to be pushed twice so while there’s a little shake at each end of the exposure, the longer you leave the shutter open, the more negligible the shake becomes.

efi-fog-1
efi-fog-2
san-mateo-night

I’m pleased with the two areas I chose to really experiment with. The people testshots weren’t even worth scanning since this camera doesn’t focus close enough to be worth it. I’m not sure if I’m going to continue using this guy but I’m more inclined to use it next June 20* than the Duaflex I used last year.

*620 camera day

I just need to do a better job with my film handling and either file down my 120 spool a lot more or do it properly and respool 120 onto 620. There are stress marks on all the negatives.

6 responses to “Six-20 Brownie Junior

  1. Pingback: Keeble and “The Box” | n j w v

  2. Pingback: SFMoMA testshots (Tripod Holes 4) | n j w v

  3. I absolutely love the photos this camera takes. I recently was given one by my father but have had a difficult time finding film for it. it came with the spool. Maybe you could point me in the right direction? I am very new at this.

    • First off, make sure you need 620 and not something like 616 or 116. 620 film is the same as 120 film (120 is a standard format available from any photography retailer) only the spools themselves are smaller.

      If you want to spend a lot of money, you can buy 620 film from BH.

      If you’re cheap like me, you buy 120 and convert it to 620. The best way is to respool 120 onto a spare 620 spool. This requires you to have two 620 spools though. The way I went was to file/sand down the plastic 120 spool so that it had the dimensions of my 620 spool. I don’t recommend this method. It works but it’s a pain.

      • Thank you for the response, I do need 620. I had been doing some research after I had commented on your blog and saw the trick with respooling. The camera came with one spool so I am going to try and find another on eBay. I’m excited to see what this old girl can do, especially after seeing your pictures. Thanks again for your time. :) I look forward to reading more of your blogs.

        • It might be worth it to spend the money on a roll of 620 just to have the spool afterwards.

          It’s also often cheaper to get another 620 camera for the spool inside. 620 spools by themselves are often kind of expensive. 620 cameras though are often not (~$5)

          In any case, other posts of mine if you’re interested in 620 cameras (the whole buying a camera for the spool inside is how I ended up acquiring so many).

What do you think?

