Hawaii scans

HI-1

Part of the family vacation component of my Hawai‘i trip was to come back with a pile of photos to scan. A lot of them are extended family so I have to do some work to identify who they are. The first batch I’ve been scanning has been photos of my grandparents. Mostly of my grandmother. Mostly taken before my mom was born.

So we’re talking around early 1940s for most of these. The non-studio photos all appear contact prints from 120 or 620 film (~2.25 inches wide).

HI-8
HI-17
HI-26
HI-6
HI-15
HI-4

The studio photos are interesting since they’re much more like the kinds of photos I would see on people’s walls during my childhood visits. Professional photos were framed, everything else went in albums.

HI-19
HI-23

And a couple notes on scanning. It’s a tough decision between trying to correct the color and contrast of the aged print and maintaining the sense that these are old, faded, and beat up items. I hope I’ve found the right balance here. Also, it’s very strange to see all of these scaled to exactly the same 500-pixel widths. In person, the prints are all slightly different sizes. Scanning everything results in a forced uniformity which loses some of the character of the artifacts.

6 responses to “Hawaii scans

  1. Pingback: Hawaii scans II | n j w v

  2. Pingback: Grandma’s wallet | n j w v

  3. Pingback: Public vs private | n j w v

  4. Pingback: Six Lines of Flight | n j w v

  5. Pingback: Looking at photos | n j w v

  6. Pingback: Dad scans | n j w v

What do you think?

