Mashups

I’ve been sitting on this post for a long time tying to figure out what to do with it. Do I start a series? Do I explain everything? Is there even a post here?

Given how Twitter isn’t conducive to well-thought-out ideas, my entire series of mashups isn’t that coherent. Some of these are jokes, others involve similarities in theme, and others are suggestions for projects which I’d like to see someone attempt.

It’s this last category which is most interesting to me. I even have particular images in mind.

I’d love to see a photograph of tunnel view which includes the scores of tourists taking the same photo.

I’d love to see an overlay of Every Building on the Sunset Strip in Google street view. Or failing that, a reshooting of that project (or Twentysix Gasoline Stations or Thirtyfour Parking Lots) using current imagery. Not necessarily a restaging of it, but updating the work to the digital age.

I’d love to see austere formal photographs of the next Disney pop phenomenon as he/she ages from debutante teen-star to young Hollywood veteran.

I’d love to see a gigantic print of a drive-in with the screen exploding in white and all the still cars waiting and watching while airplanes leave light trails overhead.

And yes, I would kill for a cat macro which converts to black and white, applies a coarse line screen, and then creates the text in red-reversed Futura Italic.

2 responses to “Mashups

  1. Pingback: Towards the 21st Century | n j w v

  2. Pingback: Google Street View and Curation | n j w v

What do you think?

