What I share

Hello World!

I’m glad that I’m happy enough with my family photos that I don’t feel the pressure to get a professional to take them.

Building off of yesterday’s post. Why do I photograph my life? What do I get out of it? And am I selling the same propaganda that I’m living a good life?

The why question is easy. It’s a way for me to train my eye in how to see my surrounding. Notice details. File them away in my brain even if I’m not actively seeking to document them. I try to take photos which are not only interesting to me but I don’t expect them to be treated as art.

What do I get out of it? I see things better and any photos I take help my memory and give me something more concrete to hold on to.

Propaganda or not? Not for me. I don’t share photos to demonstrate what I’ve done or accomplished. I share them to show people how I’ve seen something. Do I take a lot of documentary photos? Absolutely. But I take them to work through the documentary impulse and get into more interesting territory. The photos I like to show people are the ones where I’m trying to go beyond the documentary and into my point of view.

This is especially true with family photos. I’m close to being the annoying dad with a camera at every event. But I know I’m not looking for the same shots as everyone else.

Walter, do you like Tomás?
time to go home
DSC_0035

tunnel!

wild thing
DSC_0001
picture time
strapped in
tube

One response to “What I share

  1. Pingback: Means vs Ends | n j w v

What do you think?

