Instagram Experiment

experiment
experiment
experiment
experiment

A quick experiment seeing whether I would interpret actual old photographs differently if they were run through Instagram filters. I’ve been so innoculated against the fake-retro look that I was curious whether I would filter out other retro elements.

I may need to do more experimenting since I’m reaching the conclusion that Instagram mimics a specific time period of retro-ness* rather than being generically retro. And it may work better in color too.

*Namely, the 1970s since that’s what my generation grew up looking at in photo albums.

6 responses to “Instagram Experiment

  1. Original images are here:
    kresge-balloons
    HI-1
    DSC_0144
    HI-4

  2. Interesting experiment. I am pretty curious to hear your conclusion.

  3. So this gets more interesting now that instagram profiles are public.
    http://instagram.com/njwv/

  4. Pingback: iPhones, iPods, and Filters | n j w v

  5. Pingback: Looking at photos | n j w v

  6. Pingback: Blinders | n j w v

What do you think?

