Portfolio

4doors
after work
swirl
bench
magenta
days end

vossbrink.net is now live.

After a couple years of thought, I’ve finally gotten my butt in gear and put together a website to show my photos. That I take photos of what I see and only figure out what I have later makes it very difficult to break things out into specific projects.

I rarely know what I’m working on. And  if I do, it’s even harder to figure out when I’m done.

In this case though, external forces helped a bit. My company is moving locations later this year. The move allows me to view the five-plus years of shooting that I’ve done at work as a single project.

My lunchtime* walks documenting the area have left me with thousands of photos to go through. I could** cut things down more, but I’m happy with the current edit.

*And, on occasion, morning and evening.

**should

I’m also pleased with the website itself. It’s not perfect (I’d like for it to work better on mobile) but compared to the unfiltered mess which is my flickr account, I’m much happier seeing my photos this way. Flickr’s never been about presenting a portfolio.

I’m especially pleased with coming up with the concept of a B-sides portfolio. I always have random photos which I like but which don’t fit any particular set or sequence. Those are always the most painful cuts too. Since the B-sides concept encourages randomness, I feel free to cut without making it so final.

This is the first time I’ve used some sort of app to do this kind of thing. Feels sort of like cheating, but I know I’m going to want to add other projects so having the ability to quickly add new items without having to recode everything was an important consideration.

It’s been nice to dabble in some design stuff again. Has been a while.

I don’t miss mucking around in HTML and CSS though. Ugh. Dimensioning everything in pixels really bothers me. I had to change as much as possible to be dimensioned in ems. Yes. I’m insane. But my CSS now is now dimensioned vertically in ems and horizontally in pixels.

4 responses to “Portfolio

  1. Pingback: Photographic Identity | n j w v

  2. Pingback: Leaving work. Leaving California. | n j w v

  3. Pingback: Welcome new followers | n j w v

  4. Pingback: Magazines | n j w v

What do you think?

