Famous Subjects

I’ve been keeping a list of these in my head since I find them interesting. Especially the street photos where the subjects aren’t actually posing. I don’t have much to add but when I saw someone start tweeting these, I chimed in with the ones I knew of.

Well, one thing that I do find really interesting about these is how they help us understand the way the photographer approached the scene. In the case of Elevator Girl and Grenade boy, we even have contact sheets* to go with the stories. Learning the back story helps us understand the famous image better.** It’s always nice to be reminded how a photo doesn’t exist by itself.

*Elevator Girl’s contact sheet. Grenade Boy’s contact sheet (which he commented on).

**Jörg Colberg has as nice essay looking at Migrant Mother.

What do you think?

