Do you drink blood?

“Mama, why don’t you drink the blood?”

“What?!”

“You just eat the body.”

It looks like someone has been paying attention during mass. I’m glad I’m not the Catholic parent who has to explain the miracle of transubstantiation to him. My first instinct is to say that it’s not real blood. But I know that’s undercutting what my wife would like him to believe so I’m letting her do the main explaining here.*

*He’ll make his own decision when he’s ready.

However, between this and his poop song, I do have to admit that I’m enjoying watching him grapple with religion and how it fits into the everyday world.

What do you think?

