Welcome new followers

It’s been an interesting two weeks. The White Guy Photography posts brought in way more traffic than I’ve ever seen. I was ready for a surge of negative feedback but I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the amount of positive feedback I’ve received. So thanks for all the support and to everyone who shared the article.

I should also specifically thank the Flickr user* who suggested that I read  The Photograph as an Intersection of Gazes: The Example of National Geographic and Double Take: Diary of A Relationship With An Image. My posts were mainly written from the point of view of me examining my own opinions. To receive suggestions for exploring and really thinking about those opinions is really why I have the blog.

*He contacted me privately so I’m letting him stay private.

And I should thank Tom Griggs for putting together a very nice response to my posts which says a lot of what I was fumbling around in a much better way.

I’m not sure how many people have decided to stick around, but for those that have, here’s an updated jumping-in post of where to start on this mostly-photography (but not exclusively) blog.

First, general photography posts.

  • Freshly Pressed. My previous jumping-in spot. Most of the links in here I reference a lot.
  • Looking at Photos. The post which got me Freshly Pressed. Probably still the best thing I’ve written here.
  • AP Art History. A short post observing where photography appears to sit in the AP Art History canon.
  • Boston. Looking at various versions and crops from the Boston Marathon Bombing.
  • Chris Hadfield. Thinking about the effect that his photos had on me in terms of reigniting some of the wonder of space travel that I felt as a child. I also put together a gallery of my favorites of his photos.

Photography exhibition reviews which I’ve written, and am proud of, since the Freshly Pressed post.

Photo books I’ve looked through and written about.

Random photo-related silliness.

And I put together a portfolio of sorts. A few commenters pointed out that despite my claim that I take mainly family photos, my portfolio is pretty much devoid of people. This is indeed true. My portfolio is exclusively photos I shot at my work—most often during my lunch break but also after arriving in the morning or before departing in the evening. It represents an easy-to-bite-off chunk of my photography which can be consolidated into a single project. There are no people because I was taking photos as a way to get away from my coworkers for 30 minutes or so.

As for why I don’t have a portfolio of my family photos? Simples. I have no idea where to begin with the thousands of family photos on my computer.

One response to “Welcome new followers

  1. Pingback: Hello Everybody | n j w v

What do you think?

