Drifting away

I’ve never been a Luis Suárez hater—I have serious reservations about the way the racial abuse stuff was handled* and the biting stuff, while admittedly abhorrent, is not actually dangerous play. Still, I’ve never liked him despite his obvious greatness as a player. There is too much baggage there where, while I’m not convinced in the severity of everything, I don’t want anything to do with him still.

*Mainly because the way the translations were handled felt both culturally and linguistically simple.

This is distinct from how I enjoy rooting against Ronaldo because he’s a brilliant heel.* If the worst thing Suárez did was the handball against Ghana, I’d still consider him a heel.** But this is something worse where while I think the hatred may be harsh, I can see and understand and even agree with where it’s coming from. I can’t defend him. I also think the people defending him have to cherrypick so much evidence that they appear to be the worst kind of fanboys.

*It’s fun to root against him. It makes the game fun to root against him. At the same time, appreciate him for what he is too. I’m a Barça fan but the constant Messi vs Ronaldo thing is annoying and awful. Appreciate the fact that we’ve got two players playing at—and pushing each other to—levels that no one else has ever reached. 

**I thought that play was brilliant BTW. 

Which is why I’ve been dreading the end of Luis Suárez’s suspension all season. When Barça signed him I felt a sinking feeling in my gut. There have been a lot of things the club has done in recent years that I have disagreed with but none of them have affected my feeling for the team itself.

Until now.

Now, one of the chief attacking weapons whose goals and assists I’m supposed to count on and celebrate is a player who I don’t want anything to do with. He’s a player I don’t want to discuss with other fans. He’s a player who I know I’ll get crap about if I wear my Barça jersey.

I drifted away from being a Giants fan during the last half of the 2000s. Mainly because of Barry Bonds and the endless steroids sideshow and how I eventually ended up keeping the team at arms-length because the face of the franchise was something I couldn’t support anymore. Bonds was unlikeable and eventually undefendable and, as such, I found myself paying less and less attention to the individual games and instead just checking in every once in a while to see how things are going. I cared about the team in general. I just didn’t want to know the details.

One week of Suárez in the starting lineup and I’m finding myself taking the first steps to not caring about Barça in exactly the same way. I don’t want to watch the play-by-plays because I find myself hoping he doesn’t do anything good—or if he does, there’s no enjoyment in it. I don’t want to read the write ups because he’s the big story right now. I second-guess wearing my jerseys because I don’t want to talk about him.

This sucks.

I want to be proud when I wear my jersey. I want to take pleasure in being able to watch the games and joy in whoever our goalscorers may be. It’s easy to say that rooting for a team means rooting for laundry. But it’s not true. The people wearing the laundry matter. I’m rooting for both laundry and whoever’s wearing it. If I can’t root for both, I’m stuck not rooting at all.

4 responses to “Drifting away

  1. There is a term called forgiveness. He hasn’t done anything as a Barcelona that taints Barca’s image. He paid the price, did the suspension, reasonable or not. We all done silly things. Does it mean we should all be cursed for all our lives?
    What he did is no more and no less than a bar fight. To say he’s famous and he needs to be a role model is like to say a billionaire need to donate to charity 60% of their income, while we average Joe don’t have to give anything to any panhandler. And I’m sure there are people you know who did get in worse fights that you don’t disgust them.

    It’s a perspective. Many way to look at an issue. But if you feel so annoyed that you can’t even enjoy your favorite team, maybe a change in perspective is needed. After all, this is sport, it’s not anything moral and it shouldn’t be exaggerated.

  2. I chose to forgive and forget.

    Both incidents (Racial slur/Biting) were poorly handled by the man him self, denying it over and over until he got backed in a corner, but the Evra situation was clouded with misinformation and the biting incident… Fifa was unjust for that ridiculous ban but the reductions made it kinda fair in the end

    He apologized served his ban and looks to be a much more mature person, who knows maybe not being the star man will help him thrive.

    One thing is for sure though Luiz Suarez is a monster of a football player and YOU WILL GIVE IN TO LOVING HIM WHEN HE STARTS SCORING RIDICULOUS AND IMPORTANT GOALS FOR BARCA ITS INEVITABLE, JUST WAIT ON IT.

    Im sure they’re liverpool fans who felt just like u during all his various antics at anfield (like flirting with arsenal in 2013) wholl tell u hes nuts but they adore him and would kill to have kept him. im glad he plays for us cuz i surely wouldnt like him playing against barca.

  3. Nice post on Suárez here. I suspect my nature of forgiveness may be distancing myself from the situation rather than embracing him.
    http://www.barcelonafootballblog.com/23957/luis-suarez-and-the-act-of-forgiveness/

  4. Pingback: Mailday from Shane | n j w v

What do you think?

