AT&T

DSC_0271

For my birthday I got to take the behind-the-scenes tour at AT&T Park. It’s a good tour that goes through the stands, press box, clubhouse, and on to the field. I’m very much glad I went.

It’s also sort of a weird tour. We were there during a Visa corporate event and the tour definitely felt like it had been built along those lines—hit the good photo spots and keep moving. I couldn’t help but compare it to the Camp Nou tour I took in 2006. It felt like a pilgrimage for half of the adults on it and all the kids were treating it like Disneyland.

I think that part of the difference is that there’s no San Francisco Giants museum where fans can see the history of the franchise. A lot of the allure of visiting a stadium is to walk through the history of the place. This is why I’d love to visit Fenway or Wrigley and why, despite the Giants not playing there for a decade, I felt a pang of loss when Candlestick went down. AT&T is still very new and, while the Giants have done well there, it’s not the same sort of historical presence.

Still, the park is a beaut and we had a wonderfully clear day for the tour.

ATT-1
ATT-2
DSC_0259
ATT-3

What do you think?

