Monterey Bay Aquarium

Two trips this summer. Usually I only get to go once. It’s funny, as much as I prefer the local-focus of aquariums, I’ve been finding myself trying to rationalize that with how zoos are generally much much better in terms of animal husbandry and acquiring their exhibits. I love that zoos provide a place for rescued animals and are actively involved in trying to save species through breeding programs. I just dislike that they all seem to focus on the same charismatic megafauna and none of them really explain what the local wildlife scene is.

Aquariums meanwhile are almost always local but it seems like most of the animals on display are captured from the wild. I find myself increasingly wondering what the cost of this is both in terms of how many animals don’t survive their capture—or their captivity.

Untitled
Untitled
MBA-1
MBA-1
MBA-2
DSC_0006
DSC_0021
DSC_0024
DSC_0028
DSC_0030
DSC_0046
DSC_0051
DSC_0053
DSC_0067
DSC_0079
DSC_0082
DSC_0100
DSC_0106
DSC_0107
DSC_0118
DSC_0126

What do you think?

